My Heart’s in the Highlands by Robert Burns 

My heart’s in the Highlands, my heart is not here;
My hear’ts in the Highlands a’chasing the deer;
Chasing the wild deer and following the roe,
My heart’s in the Highlands wherever I go.

Farewell to the Highlands, farewell to the north,
The birthplace of valor, the country of worth;
Wherever I wander, wherever I rove,
The hills of the Highlands forever I love.

Farewell to the mountains high covered with snow,
Farewell to the straths and green valleys below,
Farewell to the forests and wild-hanging woods,
Farewell to the torrents and loud pouring floods.

My heart’s in the Highlands, my heart is not here;
My hear’ts in the Highlands a’chasing the deer;
Chasing the wild deer and following the roe,
My heart’s in the Highlands wherever I go.

-Robert Burns

thesea

My Heart’s in the Highlands

Leave a Reply

